Our Approach

About Our Organization: The Bay Shore High School Alumni Association was officially incorporated in March of 1998 as a "Not for Profit" Corporation.  In 2002 it applied for and was granted Section 501 (c)(3) "Charity" status by the Internal Revenue Service.

Donors may deduct contributions as provided in section 170 of the IRS Code.  Bequests, legacies, devises, transfers, or gifts made to our Association are deductible for federal estate and gift tax purposes if they meet the applicable provisions of Code sections 2055, 2106, and 2522

Contribution deductions are allowable to donors only to the extent that their contributions are gifts, with no consideration received.  Ticket purchases and similar payments in conjunction with fundraising events may not necessarily qualify as deductible contributions, depending on the circumstances.  See Revenue ruling 67-246 in Cumulative Bulletin 1967-2, which sets forth guidelines regarding the deductibility, as charitable contributions, of payments made by taxpayers for admission to or other participation in fundraising activities for charity.

All checks should be made out to the "Bay Shore High School Alumni Association, Inc."

About Our Relationships: The BSHS Alumni Association is a community organization that has a long lasting, close, working relationship with the Bay Shore School District.  Alumni Association meetings are held periodically as needed, with email contact being the most common means of communication.  All school / community minded individuals are invited to attend.  You do not have to be a Bay Shore alumnus to be involved.  We can be contacted through our post office box address or through the Office of School-Community Services located in the Bay Shore High School, or via our personal email addresses.

All school employees, community residents, officers, and alumni who participate in our association do so on a community service basis.  There are no paid members in our organization.

Our Story

Committee Members

Harry E Brown 1966
Michael Dolan 1977
Maureen Knapp Tortorici 1977
Kathleen Allen Hanley 1962
Gary Arnold 1978
Frank Boulton 1969
Bernard Brophy 1978
Patrick Brown 1997
Artie Dromerhauser 59
Charles Flood 1977
Guy Leggio 1984
J. Stewart McLaughlin 1955
Rev John Morrison 1959
Ted Nagangast 1987